HomeCATNews UpdatesNew Teachers' Contract, New School Commitee Chairman

New Teachers’ Contract, New School Commitee Chairman


Subscribe to our mailing list and consider following WestfordCAT on Facebook, YouTube and Instagram for daily updates from Westford's hometown source for news. 

The following is Part Four of the June 23, 2014 School Committee meeting. For a link to the rest of the meeting, click here.

Video of the meeting will be available at westfordcat.org

9:26 p.m. – The meeting then went to an agreed upon contract with the Westford Education Association, with Olsen saying that the agreement was good for both sides.

He said that the focus was bringing more competitiveness to teacher salaries compared to comparable districts and that the contract was approved by 89% of teachers.

Keele congratulated Clay and Ryan as well as WEA president Jason Humphries and various other people involved in the process and their level of professionalism in the process.

David Keele on June 23, 2014
David Keele on June 23, 2014

There will not be another contract for two to three years.

Harkness thanked Keele for his efforts.

9:30 p.m. – The School Committee schedule was unanimously approved.

The School Committee approved payroll warrants and previous minutes.

Olsen then provided a personnel update.

9:33 p.m. – The agenda then went to School Committee chairmanship elections. Keele gave temporary chairmanship to Olsen to take nominations.

Clay was unanimously elected as the new chair.

Benoit was unanimously elected as vice chair, removing Ryan.

Murray said she would serve as secretary since all of the members had served as secretary once.

The meeting was then adjourned and the committee was adjourned for the summer.

Support WestfordCAT News

Local journalism is vital to our communities. As other publications shift focus toward regional journalism, WestfordCAT continues to provide high-quality hyperlocal reporting to our town, free for everyone to read. So  we have a small favor to ask. Every contribution, no matter how big or small, helps us sustain our journalism and keep our community informed. Please consider supporting WestfordCAT by donating online.

Upcoming Events