HomeCATNews UpdatesElectionMallon, Kelly Elected to Westford School Committee; 'Dismal' Turn Out for Town-Wide...

Mallon, Kelly Elected to Westford School Committee; ‘Dismal’ Turn Out for Town-Wide Election


Get daily Westford text alerts by subscribing here.

If you value this free news please consider making a donation to WestfordCAT through: paypal.com/us/fundraiser/charity/1659975.

Alicia D. Mallon and Sean P. Kelly were elected to the two open seats on the School Committee on May 7.  Mallon got 674 votes as compared to Kelly with 459 votes and Daniel A. Goldner with 415 votes. Blanks came in at 320.

School Committee candidates Daniel Goldner, Sean Kelly, and Alicia Mallon. PHOTO BY JOYCE PELLINO CRANE

The election attracted only 5.5 percent of the town’s 16,907 registered voters. The turn out for the six precincts amounted to 937.

Earlier in the day Precinct 1 warden, Judith Culver, said the turnout was “dismal.” By 10:30 a.m. only 32 in the precinct had voted. Precinct 1 had the lowest turnout at 4.5 percent.

Mallon’s Election History

Mallon was appointed to the School Committee in 2017 when she fulfilled the unexpired term of Tom Clay after he was elected to the Board of Selectmen with two years left to his term. She was re-appointed in 2018. Both times she had sought to be elected but came up short.

In 2017 Gloria Miller and Megan Eckroth won the two open seats over Mallon. In 2018, she was among four candidates for three open seats. Mallon lost to newcomer Mingquan Zheng and incumbents Avery Adam and Chris Sanders.

Mingquan Zheng. COURTESY PHOTO

Kelly, a local attorney, won on his first try, securing the seat held by long-term member Arthur Benoit who did not seek re-election.

The Remaining Election Results

Seven other elections took place on May 7, but none were contested. The results were:

Board of Selectmen – three-year terms — two seats

Scott Hazelton — 742 votes

Andrea Peraner-Sweet — 693 votes

Selectmen Scott Hazelton and Andrea Peraner-Sweet. PHOTO BY JOYCE PELLINO CRANE

Board of Health — three-year terms –two seats

Sue Hanly — 760 votes

Stephanie Granger — 700 votes

Board of Health candidates Stephanie Granger (far left) and Sue Hanly (center), with Planning Board candidate Michael Bonenfant. PHOTO BY JOYCE PELLINO CRANE

Housing Authority — five-year term — one seat

Muriel Drake — 729 votes


Housing Authority — four-year term — one seat

Janine McCormack — 710 votes


Board of Library Trustees — three-year terms — two seats

Elizabeth Diercks — 728 votes

Glen Secor — 721 votes

Library Trustee candidate Glen Secor. PHOTO BY JOYCE PELLINO CRANE

Board of Library Trustees — two-year term — one seat

Alisha Hillam — 728 votes


Planning Board — five-year term — one seat

Michael Bonenfant — 733 votes

UPDATE — This story was amended on May 8 to reflect Sean P. Kelly’s victory for a second School Committee seat.